Contact your local county Extension office through our County Office List.

   

For more information or support with FSMA contact us at 303-869-9282

Colorado Department of Agriculture


Produce Safety Professionals   Arrow divider image - marks separation between nested pages that are listed as breadcrumbs.

Listed below are collaborators who are available to help with understanding the Produce Safety Rule, and respond to your produce safety questions.

Dr. Marisa Bunning is Colorado State University’s Food Safety Extension Specialist. As a Lead Trainer for the Produce Safety Alliance Grower Training, Dr. Bunning is knowledgeable about produce safety and agricultural practices that may compromise public health.

e-mail: Marisa.Bunning@colostate.edu

phone: (970) 491-7180

 

 

Cristy Dice is the Produce Safety Rule Program Manager for the Colorado Department of Agriculture, working under the FSMA Project Director, Steve Bornmann. Her role is to implement the Produce Safety Rule in Colorado by developing policies, goals, objectives and strategies for the program. She works closely with CSU Extension, grower organizations, and other states to create a program that is uniform and consistent with other programs in the nation and meets the needs of Colorado produce growers.

e-mail: cristy.dice@state.co.us

phone: (303) 869-9282

 

Martha Sullins is the Front Range Regional Specialist in Agriculture, Business Management and Food Systems and a Produce Safety Rule Lead Trainer. She also conducts workshops in Good Agricultural Practices, and is on the food safety committee for the Colorado Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association.

e-mail: Martha.Sullins@colostate.edu

phone: (970) 491-3330

 

Beth LaShell is an Instructor in Agriculture and Biology as well as the farm coordinator at the Old Fort, at Fort Lewis College. She is a Produce Safety Rule Lead Trainer in Southwest Colorado.

e-mail: lashell_b@fortlewis.org

phone: (970) 385-4574

Dr. Michael Bartolo manages the Arkansas Valley Agricultural Experiment Station and is a research scientist with CSU. He specializes in fruit and vegetable production practices and has experience in farm food safety planning.

e-mail: Michael.Bartolo@colostate.edu

phone: (719) 254-6312

Dr. Tamla Blunt leads the Plant Pathology Lab and the CSU Food Safety Center, and is a Produce Safety Rule trainer.

e-mail: Tamla.Blunt@colostate.edu

phone: (970) 491-7498

 

Adrian Card serves as the CSU Extension Agent in Agriculture and Natural Resources in Boulder County since 2004, where his work focuses on cropping systems, food systems, specialty crop production and marketing, public ag education, beginning farmer development through the Colorado Building Farmers program, ag community development, economic development, and organizational development support for the Colorado Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association.

e-mail: acard@bouldercounty.org

phone: (303) 678-6383

Tabitha Covey is a graduate student in Horticulture, assisting with Produce Safety Rule education and outreach.

e-mail: Tabitha.Covey@colostate.edu

phone: (970) 222-8782

Dan Goldhamer is the Horticulture Extension Agent in Denver and a Produce Safety Alliance Trainer.

e-mail: dan.goldhamer@colostate.edu

phone: (720) 913-5273

Dr. Roshan Nayak is the Regional Produce Safety Specialist and a Produce Safety Alliance Trainer. In addition to training, he assists with developing educational outreach materials for Colorado produce growers.

e-mail: Roshan.Nayak@colostate.edu

phone: (303) 271-6629

Harrison Topp is the Director of Membership for the Rocky Mountain Farmers Union and the manager of Topp Fruits in Paonia, CO.  He’s certified as a Produce Safety Rule trainer by the Produce Safety Alliance and reinforces the content with his own on-farm experience.

e-mail: Harrison.Topp@rmfu.org

phone: (303) 918-3538